Best of the Worst

I am usually overwhelmed by the endless number of beers available.  Choosing a beer to enjoy has become an increasingly difficult decision based on the large number of imports from around the globe as well as the plethora of domestic craft breweries that have sprung up across the U.S.  To be sure, this point has been exhaustively discussed on this blog.

But consider the opposite problem: what to do when the only choices are those three notoriously cheap and mass-produced American brews?  During a recent trip to a town in America’s Heartland – population about 5,000 – I faced precisely this problem.  My choices were thus: bad; worse; and terrible.

A point of self-awareness is important to note here – I am admittedly a beer snob.  I find it inconceivable these three usual suspects are still selected when other excellent choices are available for a few pennies more.  But judge I will not.  Should you enjoy those beers, please indulge; but if offered, I choose to politely and respectfully decline.

Beer snobbery does not mean a disdain for all American beer; on the contrary, I enjoy several common American beers that have received international acclaim and awards for their quality and taste.  And I have been known to, on occasion, enjoy High Life.  Yet I am never forced into this decision, as was recently the case.  Relegation must always be voluntary, never presupposed.

So we return to the original question – what to do with these less than ideal choices?  In short, drink whisky.  Regardless of origin – Irish, Canadian, American, wherever – any whisky is far preferable to a sub-par beer.  So the next time you find yourself in a similar situation, find a lowball glass and a couple of ice cubes; you’ll likely not be the only one.

Published in: on November 2, 2010 at 2:16 pm  Comments Off on Best of the Worst  
Tags: , ,
