Central Liquor’s New Ownership

Central Liquor, the veritable downtown liquor store that recently relocated to 625 E Street, NW in Penn Quarter, is under new ownership.  During a recent visit to the store for Abita Turbodog (what other beer is appropriate for a Mardi Gras party?) Lashdeep Singh introduced himself and his wife as the store’s new owners.

To be sure, this news came with mixed emotions: I have enjoyed the Akopov family’s ownership for nearly a decade.  A visit to Central Liquor was a visit to a DC institution, whose iconic signage is still visible at its former F Street location.  I spoke with Valery Akopov late last year after they re-opened at their current address: he appeared exhausted from the store’s relocation.  It must have been a tough move.

I suppose a part of me wasn’t surprised to meet the new owners a few days ago.  At this early point in their tenure, much of the store’s interior remains the same, albeit with noticeably better stocked shelves than the previous month or two.  Lashdeep is friendly, engaging, and eager to fully immerse himself in the neighborhood’s fabric.  He’s looking to begin regular tastings and other events at the store and is also stocking a number of locally produced beverages.  I was told whisky from the Copper Fox Distillery, located in nearby Sperryville, VA, has been flying off the shelf. I was given a taste and it was indeed fantastic – I immediately bought a bottle of their rye.

Ownership of this local liquor store – one of DC’s oldest – is a legacy to uphold; I’m sure the Singh family understands that responsibility.  I wish a happy retirement to the Akopov family and a word thanks for your service to my community.  And I also look forward to this new era is Central Liquor’s history, as well as the Singh family’s smiling faces and energetic service.

Published in: on March 6, 2011 at 11:21 pm  Comments Off on Central Liquor’s New Ownership  
Tags: ,
