Out and About

7th Street NW in DC's Chinatown neighborhood

Although I much prefer to drink at home, I’ve managed to get out of the house a bit lately and enjoy some fine beers.  And based on those excursions, I’ve also managed to do a little extra writing outside of this blog.  Writing for other sites allows me to discuss a broad range of topics falling outside my simple tripartite philosophy about drinking.

While I am, of course, proud of this blog, I am just as proud of these guest posts.  But today is special – I have two guest posts appearing on the same day.

Neighborhood Brew Pubs: A Night Out, is my third contribution to Penn Quarter Living, a local blog covering Washington DC’s Penn Quarter and Chinatown neighborhoods. 

I also suggested Five Local Beers to Drink Now to Metrocurean, the “go-to resource for all things food in the DC metro area – eating out, entertaining at home, cooking and enjoying the good life.”

Links to these contributions are available on this blog’s House Specials page.  The page also contains links to several original series that have appeared on this blog: a three part reminiscence of my time in the Middle East; a four part series on Trappist beer; and a three part lamentation on the decline of modern drinking culture.

While I still prefer to stay in and enjoy my home bar, once in awhile it is indeed entertaining to wander about the neighborhood and relax in a quiet pub or tavern.

Published in: on March 9, 2011 at 3:07 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

One Comment

  1. Congrats on your guest posts! Great job with them. Also, I prefer to drink out on the town, and am slowly starting to appreciate having a cozy cocktail at home more and more.


Comments are closed.

