Summer Has Arrived

Memorial Day weekend marks the unofficial start to summer.  Time to dust off your shorts and sandals and pray we aren’t too pale for our first beach trip.  Finally, long days of hot and humid weather have arrived.  And with it, the delicious smells of barbecuing and campfires.

I don’t have any big plans this Memorial Day.  In years past I have fought traffic to see family in the midwest or to visit Maryland’s Eastern Shore.  This year however, I’m staying put, preferring instead to enjoy Washington when most others leave.

So for me, it will be a quiet weekend likely enjoyed from my balcony, with a few cold American beers and perhaps a cigar.  And of course, a moment of quiet contemplation and thanks for those who serve, so bloggers like me may write our words in comfort and security.

Here’s to our vets and a long summer of great drinking!

Published in: on May 27, 2011 at 9:54 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

One Comment

  1. Amen Brother!! Cheers eh!


Comments are closed.

