Reader’s Block

Although it’s slightly off topic, I’ve recently realized that finding the time for leisure reading is becoming increasingly difficult.  After work has ended, the evening hours following dinner are typically reserved for family, and following that, a drink to inspire these thoughts.  At day’s end, picking up a book after a drink or two is usually a certain recipe for immediately dozing off on the couch.

On the occasions I find both time and energy to read a few pages, I sometimes begin a new book rather than finishing the book in hand.  My reasoning, at least in theory: a different book makes the original appear fresh again, the break creating renewed interest in the original.  Unfortunately, my plan has failed.  I’m now stuck in the middle of three books:

One about eating – An Edible History of Humanity, by Tom Standage

Another about drinking – How to Booze: Exquisite Cocktails and Unsound Advice, by Jordan Kaye and Marshall Altier

And another about smoking – Tobacco: A Cultural History of How an Exotic Plant Seduced Civilization, by Iain Gately

I started this last book immediately after finishing Ernest Hemingway’s To Have and Have Not while on vacation this spring in the Dominican Republic; the two were selected because of the Caribbean’s prominence in both books.  Yet I was only able to get 100-plus pages into Gately’s work before returning home to my daily routine of professional and familial responsibilities.

So now I sit, smack in the middle of three books all discussing the history and pleasures of various gastronomical endeavors and vices.  Hopefully I’ll break through the block soon and post one or two of them as Recommended Reading.  Or perhaps I should take a temporary break from reading altogether and instead focus on finding another bottle to open.

One Comment

  1. Yo THF!

    So if we’re not eating and drinking, or writing/talking/thinking about eating and drinking, we’re reading about eating and drinking. I’d say life is good!

    Did you find your next bottle? 🙂

    Cheers!
    G-LO


Comments are closed.

