Where I Should Have Been

The first month of summer is nearing its end; Washington’s notoriously hot, humid weather has arrived in full.  I’m already wishing for autumn to come and break summer’s spell.  But autumn is months away – so why not embrace the summer weather, in all its sweaty, sunburned glory?

Easier said than done.  The weather, to its credit, has been relatively cooperative; it wasn’t too hot this past week.  But my friends were another story: they were in short supply.  Between summer travel, family, and various other responsibilities of adulthood, I was the only one available for serious drinking.  And while I do occasionally enjoy drinking alone, certain kinds of events are not the type to be undertaken alone, and are instead best enjoyed in teh company of close friends. 

The Whisky Guild stopped in Washington, DC last Thursday for its annual Whisky Cruise on the Potomac River.  The cruise was a two hour sail up and down the river, during which over two hundred varieties of scotch, bourbon, and blended whisky were poured.  A buffet dinner accompanied drinks, along with views of the city, the Pentagon, and Arlington National Cemetery.  Even worse, my commute home takes me past Washington Marina, where the boat was docked; it was sad sight to see the boat docked at Washington Marina, waiting for the passengers to board and begin enjoying the evening.

Two days later – this past weekend – was the Fourth Annual Northern Virginia Summer BrewFest, a two-day event held in at Morven Park in Leesburg, Virginia, a far outer suburb west of DC.  The brewfest is billed as a “celebration of American Beer [and] features over 50 of America’s best breweries, a variety of food to complement the craft beers and great local and regional bands to entertain you.”

I attended the brewfest last year with four of my friends and it was a fantastic time indeed: an endless amount of beer; several pulled pork and chicken sandwiches; and thanks to Morven Park’s wide open fields, a horribly painful sunburn that was still visible months later.  But needless to say, one hell of a good time – the memories of which only made missing this year that much sadder.

Thankfully, missing these two summer drinking events doesn’t require waiting an entire year to pass until they return.  Rather, I’ll only have to wait until this fall – late October to be exact – to again partake of these revelries.  On October 22-23, the BrewFest holds its autumn festival in Centreville, VA; the following Wednesday (October 26) brings The Single Malt Scotch & Whisky Extravaganza, one long evening of cigars and whisky.  I attended the Extravaganza last year: that night is now simply known as “Scotch-a-palooza.”

In the meantime, I’ll embrace the dog days of summer with refreshing cocktails and tasty lagers.  When autumn does arrive and cooler temperatures prevail, I’ll have another pair of events to test my liver’s endurance.  And maybe discover a new whisky or craft beer along the way.  Assuming I can remember what I drank, of course.

4 Comments

  1. Well thanks for the memories, recollected through your words regarding the wonderful Brewfest Event last year! One note you forgot to mention was how we had our own private singer amongst our ranks! My suggestion is you should dig deep in your memory banks and highlight the specific memories of the event for your readers who I’m sure will enjoy the comic relief!! All for the love of Canadians, which I am one, a rendition of “F#*?in’ Canadians” by DJ Wes-e-Wes is in order!!!! Cheers eh!

  2. You didn’t go to the Whisky Guild Cruise??? That makes me sad! I was looking forward to a full report.

    • I know, I know. I was so close – you had me sold. But in the end, I didn’t want to drink alone. Don’t worry, October is a lock.

      • Just doing my job. I am The Enabler afterall. 🙂


Comments are closed.

