Better Late Than Never

What’s been going on for the last several weeks, you might ask?  Did I abandon The Hip Flask or go on a month-long bender, Leaving Las Vegas style?  Unfortunately not, though I have wished for a more mellow version of the latter option more than once during my short hiatus from blogging.

Summer’s end brought a rush and immediacy back to work, so much so that even the thought of another minute with a computer at the end of the day sent me to the bottle.  So instead of blogging, I’ve been working and drinking (the first too much, the second not nearly enough).  But I did find time to enjoy a drink or two, and perhaps with my professional responsibilities returning to a manageable pace, I’ll have the time and energy to again convey my thoughts on a regular basis.

In the meantime, here’s a short list of a few things I’ve enjoyed since I last wrote here:

Dark and Stormies.  What better cocktail to enjoy while waiting out a hurricane?  Granted, it may not be the most appropriate drink during an earthquake, but what better options are there?  (Perhaps anything not poured from a glass container.)

The Dalmore 12 year old.  Thanks to my friend Lashdeep at Central Liquor for introducing me to this deliciously creamy and complex flavored Scotch whiskey.

– Gin Martinis.  Made with either Tanqueray or Bombay Sapphire, up, with a touch of vermouth, and an olive – a traditional olive, without cheese stuffing or other such complications – the best cocktail with which to conclude the longest of work days.

Samuel Adam’s Harvest Collection.  Particularly the Octoberfest, Harvest Pumpkin Ale, and Bonfire Rauchbier, which have welcomed Washington’s early hints of autumn weather (which cannot arrive a moment too soon).

– Negronis.  A classic combination of gin, sweet (or red) vermouth, and Campari, expertly poured by two surprisingly friendly bartenders at Rye House, a new favorite stop in New York City.

Homemade Limoncello.  My inaugural batch of the Italian aperitif turned out more refreshing and clean than I had imagined, with only a hint of the Stolichnaya from which it was created.  This success inspired me to try again, and another batch – with Svedka as the base this time – is brewing atop my fridge as we speak (next to the plum and peach brandies, of course).

To you, my readers – thank you for keeping up with The Hip Flask, even during the recent drought of new content.  What have you been enjoying recently?

Published in: on September 26, 2011 at 10:51 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Comments

  1. Welcome back THF! That sounds like a fine line-up of beverages. I had oodles of beer, but now I’m switching gears and getting back to the whiskies. It is fall afterall.

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • Sounds fantastic. I’m still working on my bottle of The Dalmore 12 year old. And gearing up for the Single Malt Scotch & Whisky Extravaganza at the end of October. It’s going to be epic!

      • Oh yeah! We’re super pumped for this year’s event. By the way, if you don’t already have one, use discount code BD2011 to get $15 off. Our good friend Swagmaster Rick worked his magic with the Society and hooked us up with our own table. Looks like there will be around 10 of us this year.

        Though I think epic is way overused these days, it definitely applies to this year’s fast approaching festivities. Even better… LEGENDARY! 😉

  2. I’ve got a big pickle-jar of peach brandy brewing in my basement at this very moment – ever since reading your post about that, i’ve been planning and biding my time until peach season, and it finally arrived 🙂

    • That’s great! I hope you enjoy it. Glad I could provide some inspiration and (hopefully good) directions.

      I just made a gallon jar of apple brandy over the weekend, from apples I picked with my family the weekend prior. I don’t know if the apples will ferment the same as the peaches and plums did – guess I’ll find out in March!

  3. Ditto to Lexy above with the jar of peach brandy hopefully fermenting in my cupboard. I was on an IPA bender all summer, shifting towards the fall brews. I’ve got a really malty brew from Du Claw currently that is delicious. I can’t wait for some wintry stouts and porters!

    • I’m already ahead of you – bought some Samuel Smith’s Oatmeal Stout the other day. A perfect fall brew!


Comments are closed.

