Last Call for 2011

This time of year is meant to be spent with family and friends, gathered around the dinner table or next to the Christmas tree, sipping warm beverages, and eating too many sweets.  All while digging out from beneath piles of wrapping paper, empty boxes, bows, and ribbon.  

It’s been difficult finding time to write with all the new toys, gadgets, bottles, and books vying for my attention.  Thus, this post will be my final of the year.  Better to enjoy my delicious new gifts with those close to me than to sit alone writing about them. 

There are certainly plenty of new treats to enjoy: bottles of Auchentoshan scotch and Libertine absinthe; a pair of crystal champagne coupes; several books – F. Scott Fitzgerald’s On Booze, Charles Coulombe’s The Muse in the Bottle, and most hilariously, Marty Beckerman’s The Heming Way; even some new socks.  Santa was very generous this year.

So, we close the book on 2011 and look forward to the New Year – 2012.  And what might 2012 bring to The Hip Flask, you might ask?

– The return of recurring series such as the ever-informative Booze News, Recommended Reading, as well as my continuing attempt at fiction and humor, A Drink With… 

– New multi-post series, including my re-creation of Benjamin Franklin’s 18th Century Milk Punch recipe.

– Topical and current content, including upcoming posts on: investing in beer production in developing countries; drinking lessons from celebrity chef and world traveler Anthony Bourdain; and a few thoughts on wine from France’s Côtes du Rhône region.

And of course, my own considerations, explanations, observations, and ramblings regarding all things drinking, both here in Washington, DC and where ever else I find myself.  While I look forward to all the writing and drinking the new year will bring, I must conclude with a word of thanks – for the comments, correspondence, criticism, and kindness from you, my readers.  Happy New Year!

Published in: on December 29, 2011 at 12:22 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. Happy New Year Hip Flask!

  2. It was a happy new year’s eve with family.
    Making jokes and being entertained by a so cute almost 2 year old. Thanks so much. Love to you all.


Comments are closed.

