10 Winter Beers to Drink Now

Today, Metrocurean posted my third guest contribution, 10 Winter Beers to Drink Now.

If you’re looking for a hearty beer to get you through the cold months ahead, you’ll find a great list of my favorites. From Belgian-style white ales, rich porters, and a variety of bitter, thick stouts, a whole range of choices await you this winter season.

While you’re there, check out Metrocurean’s other features, including restaurant recommendations, culinary tips and recipes, as well as videos from local chefs and bartenders. And as always, make sure to keep your eyes open for future contributions.

~~~~~~~~~~

Discovering new winter beers and enjoying new favorites made my research for this guest post quite enjoyable. It was certainly difficult to select 10 favorites from all of the beers I sampled during the last several weeks.

So, while those proffered in my Metrocurean piece are my favorite, I thought it’d be nice to note the other beers I liked. Consider this an Honorable Mention list.

Milk Stout, The Duck-Rabbit Craft Brewery. A smooth, clean stout that I learned about a few days after my submission and would’ve made “favorites” list had I known of it.

Classic Lager, Blue Mountain Brewery. Not a winter beer, per se. Even though a lager, it can still be enjoyed during cold weather months. Complex, crisp, and smooth; a fine craft beer from the hinterlands of rural Virginia.

Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout, North Coast Brewing Company. A stout from California that proves – just because you don’t know the painful chills of a Russian winter doesn’t mean you can’t make a beer to withstand them.

The Czar Imperial Stout, Avery Brewing Company. A great winter beer from a Colorado craft brewery? Who would have thunk it.

~~~~~~~~~~

Picture courtesy of Metrocurean

Published in: on January 5, 2012 at 11:34 am  Comments Off on 10 Winter Beers to Drink Now  
Tags: , , ,
