St. Peters Brewery

A friend, colleague, and fellow blogger who regularly visits London introduced me to a new brewery after returning from her most recent trip: St. Peter’s Brewery.

Always interested in British beer, I conducted a bit of research and learned that the brewery “is based at St. Peter, South Elmham, near Bungay in Suffolk [which lies on the eastern coast of England]. The brewery itself was built in 1996 is housed in an attractive range of traditional former agricultural buildings adjacent to St. Peter’s Hall.”

More important than the brewery, my friend emphasized, is the Jerusalem Tavern, a bar in London that serves only St. Peter’s beers.  “The Tavern has occupied several sites in the area since the 14th century and the current building dates from 1720. It is one of the finest pubs in London and is open every weekday for meals, coffee and, of course, the full range of St. Peter’s beers and ales.”  Interestingly, the tavern’s interior is decorated with candles standing in the brewery’s various unique bottle styles and shapes.

Armed with my research and assured the beer was worth sampling, I set out to obtain as many flavors as possible.  As it turned out, I was able to find four in the local metro-DC area: the Golden Ale; Cream Stout; Old Style Porter; and, St. Peter’s Sorgham.  The Sorgham has an interesting and unique taste, insofar as it is gluten-free and not made with either wheat or barley (as the vast majority of beer is).  I most closely associate the Sorgham’s strong, hoppy taste with St. Pauli Girl German lager.

While I was indeed pleased to find four different bottles so easily, I was disheartened after perusing St. Peter’s website and realizing just how many other choices are available – the most interesting of which are their Grapefruit beer, Ruby Red, Suffolk Gold, and Best Bitter.  Later, I was especially disappointed to learn that St. Peter’s doesn’t ship to the United States.

But I’m not too worried.  Having a good friend who visits to London often means a simple request (and perhaps a cup of coffee or two) will no doubt result in several new bottles of delicious British beer.  As long as she’s careful with her luggage.

~~~~~~~~~~

Since we’re on the topic of Britain, I thought I’d include a nice piece of World War II-era propaganda for your enjoyment.  A video of the history behind the poster, which has seen a recent boom in popularity, was recently published on Devour.

Published in: on March 13, 2012 at 11:20 pm  Comments Off on St. Peters Brewery  
Tags: , , , ,
