The City of Light

My second visit to Paris, France was nearly 10 years to the day after my first. Much has changed in my life during the last decade: I finished two additional university degrees; got married; traveled extensively; began a career and a blog; and most importantly, became a father.

Needless to say, this trip was quite different than the first. Yet in some ways, it turned out to be surprisingly similar: I saw a few new sights; spent several full days with my lovely wife; discovered a couple new beers; and enjoyed far too much delicious food and drink.

This time however, there unfortunately were no late nights of drinking; most of my boozing (if that word even fits) was done over dinner or in the comfort of our hotel room with goods purchased from the local supermarché.  Boozing, in the traditional sense of the word, is quite difficult with a toddler. Yet I was still able to enjoy a few beverages, read two books, and very much enjoy myself and the beautiful weather that accompanied us.

Our trip inspired roughly a half dozen ideas on which to post, from undiscovered French and Belgian beer, historic restaurants, as well as more general considerations on what I did (or did not) drink, what I read, and how I traveled.  Perhaps I’ll post them all in the next few weeks, or perhaps not – we shall see how it all shakes out.  I leave things open for other, more timely ideas to be interspersed.

So in the meantime, I’ll kick off my Paris-inspired posts with a series of booze-related pictures I took while in the city.  Enjoy!

Published in: on March 29, 2012 at 9:15 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

2 Comments

  1. Welcome home! I’m a City Boy at heart, so a week in Paris sounds SPECTACULAR!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    FYI… I picked up two bottles from that St Peter’s Brewery that you’ve been talking about. An IPA and a Cream Stout. Haven’t had a chance to try them yet. I saw them at Total Wine and just HAD to pick them up. Stay tuned…

  2. J’adore Paris! Especially the fact that it’s common -or perhaps, unheard of to not- have un verre du vin (a glass of wine) with lunch … and dinner …. and that lovely break between lunch and dinner. So though you may not have “boozed” in the traditional sense, as you alluded, Paris is never not far from offering you your next full glass of something wonderful – be it beer, wine or whisky.

    Welcome back! Looking forward to seeing more photos … if you’re so inclined to share!🙂

    -WW


Comments are closed.

