New Whiskies

I’m always on the lookout for new inspiration when it comes to trying new scotches and single malts.  Unfortunately, I’ll miss this year’s Washington DC stop of the Single Malt Scotch Whisky Extravaganza.

Thankfully a friend who also experienced dangerous Middle East drinking emailed me a book recommendation several weeks ago: Ian Buxton’s 101 Whiskies to Try Before You Die.  After a few nights of thumbing through it casually, I decided to replenish my dwindling stock.  I hadn’t purchased any new bottles recently, so I was long overdue; I decided two or three bottles would suffice.

It took a few days to find a few minutes to casually browse the liquor store without a toddler or baby in tow, and I finally found that time late on a Sunday afternoon.  And with my trusty notes in hand, I selected the following:

– Highland Park 12 year old

– The Glenrothes Select Reserve

– Bunnahabhain 12 year old

Also on my list was a bottle of Glengoyne 21 year old, which Buxton describes as “glorious old gold…[finishing] quite extended, smooth and warming, with gentle spice hints as it fades.”  My neighborhood ABC Store didn’t carry it, which meant I had to trek into DC to pay my old liquor store in Chinatown a visit.

I’ve enjoyed my new purchases on many recent evenings, in front of the fireplace after the children are put to bed.  A perfect drink for autumn, when evening comes too early and Frankenstorm Sandy comes roaring through the Piedmont.

Published in: on November 28, 2012 at 12:50 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. Yo THF!

    The Buxton book is great! I refer to it often. I think I’ve had around 60 or 70 of the whiskies in that book so far. He just released a second edition which I believe focuses on world whiskies. It’s on my Christmas list!

    With regards to your purchases, the HP 12 is a fantastic whisky at a fantastic price. A true value purchase! Same goes for the Bunnahabin. Dee-lish!

    Sorry to hear that you won’t be able to make it to the Extravaganza event. We went to the Philly one last night. Way fewer people than last year because of the rescheduling. I think it made for a more relaxed night. Good fun! Stay tuned for a full recap.

    Cheers!
    G-LO

  2. Interesting! I haven’t spent the time getting into whiskey that i’d like… maybe I’ll pick up that book too!


Comments are closed.

