Crowdsourcing Cocktails: Iced Tea

iced tea ad

Here is where I turn to you, dear readers – my fellow patrons of booze, the great unwashed drinking masses – for your guidance, inspiration, creativity, and advice.  I cannot, for the life of me, find a suitable cocktail recipe that makes good use of brewed iced tea.

I have tried and I have failed.  Thus, I submit a humble request: please enlighten me to your favorite cocktail that uses iced tea as an ingredient.

You see, I enjoy tea – naturally brewed and unsweetened – over ice. It makes a superbly refreshing non-alcoholic beverage, which I do choose from time to time.  So, on a recent sunny afternoon, I placed several tea bags in a half gallon mason jar (the same jars I use to make homemade brandy).  A fresh batch of sun tea was ready only a few hours later.

However, I now find myself with quite a surplus of tea.  Why not put it to good use in a cocktail, I thought.  But this is precisely my problem: I cannot find a recipe that doesn’t sound overwhelmingly sweet and sugary.

So here we are, you and I and a jar of tea.  I patiently await your suggestions, concoctions, or whatever you have enjoyed and wish to pass on.

Of course, thank you for your assistance.  I am forever indebted.  Please accept my sincerest gratitude.

Published in: on July 23, 2013 at 11:21 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

6 Comments

  1. I’m thinking we should join forces! How about one part homemade Limoncello, of which I have plenty, and three parts Sun Tea, shaken and poured over ice in a tall glass and then topped with a splash of San Pellegrino Blood Orange Soda? Garnish it with a wedge of lemon and BOOM! you’re done.Thoughts?

    • Thanks G-Lo! Will try it out this weekend!

      • Excellent! Buona Fortuna!

  2. Sweet iced tea (infused with fresh mint if you can) and bourbon. That’s pretty much the best I can do once the temperature gets above 90…

    • Thanks for the tip!

  3. If you are looking for something a bit on the strong and tart side, try this.

    2 oz Gin
    6 oz sun tea
    1/2 tsp of fresh squeezed lemon juice (or just squeeze a quarter cut lemon into it and drop the rest right on in there)

    add ice.


Comments are closed.

